Salesforce Integration
Integrating Salesforce with TrustWorks automates access and deletion requests, simplifying data management and strengthening compliance with privacy regulations. This integration ensures seamless data deletion from Salesforce, minimising manual effort and reducing operational risks.
Salesforce's object permission and scopes
For the following objects in Salesforce, there are some required configuration related to permissions for each:
- Contact
- Read
- Edit
- Delete
- View All Records
- Modify All Records
- Lead
- Read
- Edit
- Delete
- View All Records
- Modify All Records
- Opportunity
- Read
- View All Records
Regarding scopes, the connector request the following values:
apioffline_accessrefresh_token
⚠️ Important
In the profile configuration, there is an administrative permission named API Enabled. This flag must be activated.
Integration Steps
- Log in to TrustWorks as an admin and navigate to Settings > Integrations.
- Click on +New Integration and select Salesforce.
- Assign a name to the integration.
- Select OAuth 2.0 as the authentication method.
- Click Authorize with Salesforce (Administrator rights are required to grant the necessary permissions to TrustWorks).

- If the connection is successful, save the integration.

Setting Up Automation and Workflow
- Link Salesforce to Your Asset Inventory
- Navigate to Asset Inventory and locate Salesforce. Click Edit.
- If Salesforce is not listed in your Asset Inventory by now, add it manually or import it from the Staging Area. More details on asset management can be found here.
- Under Details, set Automation to Salesforce and select the newly saved integration and save it.
- Click Update Asset at the top of the page.

- Configure Your Workflow
- Go to your Workflow Builder.
- Select Salesforce as an Asset under either Access or Erasure action.
- Ensure the Automation Icon appears green, indicating a successful connection.
- Save the workflow and proceed to test it.

By integrating Salesforce with TrustWorks, you enhance automation for data access and deletion requests, ensuring a seamless and compliant data management process.
Anonymisation
For the Erasure action, there is an option that allows for two possible outcomes when performing deletion:
- completely erase the subject requester information
- anonymize the information, so that it will be blurred, but still available in the platform
In the latter option, it's necessary to activate the flag Replace internal data with personal ID.
When activating this option, a button to configure the Data Anonymisation will be available. By clicking on it, a popup window will appear, allowing to define:
- Object
- Replacement Attribute
- Replacement ID
- Here it is possible to use smart variables in order to automatically define the replacement, such as
{{dsr.id}}
- Here it is possible to use smart variables in order to automatically define the replacement, such as


When the anonymisation is executed: we attempt to retrieve a field within the object that corresponds to the email, and with that we can identify that the object is related to the data subject of the request. Only then do we anonymize the specific object.